Introduction to Composting

Whenever I imagine composting, I envision a Martha Stewart-looking character effortlessly turning over a neat pile of pine needles with a pitch fork revealing black, rich soil.

This has green-waste-513609_640never been my truth.
I’ve had to abandon many grandiose plans of composting because it ended up smelling or looking unsightly. I know it’s important, so I plan on researching various methods
and giving it another shot.

Why Compost?

It can slow the growth rate of landfills

According to the U.S. EPA, about 24 percent of our waste is made up of compostable, organic material. That means, on average, Americans throw away an average of 1.3 pounds of food per day or 475 LBS PER YEAR.Composting is an important component to reducing landfill waste.

It can decrease the amount of methane gas pollution

I know what you’re thinking. Won’t the food scraps just create methane gas when they decompose in your yard? Nope. In landfills, the food scraps are covered with other trash and decompose without oxygen. This leads to a different kind of bacteria breaking down the food, leading to the byproduct of methane, a greenhouse gas that’s worse than carbon dioxide.

It’s a natural fertilizer…and FREE

It’s nice when you can turn garbage into something useful. Compost is rich in nutrients and can help feed your flowers, fruits, vegetables and grass. You could buy bagged or bulk compost for cheap, but when you make it, it costs you nothing!

Start Composting in Winter

It is the dead of winter in Ohio and the ground is frozen, yet I’m thinking about the “how to’s” of composting. I decided to start by storing my food scraps in the garage in 5 gallon buckets with lids. This buys me some time to figure out which composting method will work best for us. In the upcoming weeks, we will walk through some of the different composting techniques.

Discover which compost method is right for you!

personality-banner

bucketSide Story about the 5 Gallon Buckets… FREE  BUCKETS

I am very much guilty of jumping first and getting details later. This has led to quite a few learning experiences in my life. So when a neighbor posted that he was giving away FREE 5 GALLON PICKLING BUCKETS I jumped at the opportunity without reading further.

Fast forward a week. I went to pick them up and they. were. nasty. They were coated in a mystery black sludge and reeked of a scent that I can never unsmell. I dry-heaved the whole way home. I took the 3 cleanest buckets upstairs and let them soak in our bathtub. When I went to clean them I realized that the smell of the buckets was not of pickles but of oil. Worried that I probably shouldn’t be washing these in the family bath-tub, I decided to reach out to the neighbor who posted them. That’s when I saw it, there in the comments “buckets used for kitchen oil waste.” I then decided to finish cleaning the 3 that I had already put some elbow grease into and toss the rest. I felt slightly guilty, but I tried, right?

 

One thought on “Introduction to Composting

  1. Pingback: Composting Comparison: Which Method is Best? | No New Demand

Leave a Reply

